The Kiss

I have to admit, my favorite part of any subtle or profound love story is the kiss. I know I’m not alone in this. I just love it when a movie comes together at the end with the perfect kiss.

This is also why I have been extremely disappointed with so many newer Disney Channel movies. They have the perfect opportunities for the “big kiss” and they just mess it up. I especially hate it in the movie Starstruck, when the two main characters clearly almost kiss TWICE, and then they don’t even kiss at the end. I saw this movie once, was outraged because of this, and I haven’t watched the movie since.

If you are reading this, you may think I am overreacting. Maybe I am. But I love when a movie director takes the perfect opportunity for the big kiss and uses it. Otherwise the romance in the movie loses its magic for me.

Now, in the movie Camp Rock, I do make a little exception. The ending scene, when she sings her song, and he realizes that she is the one he has been searching for, I cry every time, because the moment when he joins in singing with her is just so sweet. And then when the song finishes, they slowly interlock fingers and this whole scene somewhat makes up for no kiss, and it is one of my favorite movies. (Please contain your laughter at my choice of movies.)

I assure you, though, that I am not all rainbows and romance and kisses and all that rose-colored glass blind. My favorite movie to this day is Transformers: Dark of the Moon. I love this movie because of its perfect blend of action, horror, romance, comedy (so much comedy), and violence. They in fact do carry out the big kiss towards the end, but it is not even that necessary for me because the “big kiss” moment that I love is when Sam, in the face of the horrible conditions of the near-ruined city before him, still decides to go find Carly. That was an incredibly brave act of love, and I give the amazing credit to the writers and director of that movie. It was truly a masterpiece.

What is your favorite movie and “big kiss” moment?

Leave a Reply

